East Texas high school students can now apply for Ronald McDonald scholarships for college

DALLAS (KETK) – Students in East Texas can now apply for the Ronald McDonald House Charities of Greater North Texas (RMHCNTX) scholarship program. The initiative gives more than $60,000 to 30 high school students each year.

The scholarship is made possible with the help of the owners/operators of North Texas McDonald’s and community donated funds. The program awards the prizes to students who have excelled in their studies and who have given back to their community.

Students from the following East Texas counties may apply: Anderson, Angelina, Cherokee, Franklin, Gregg, Harrison, Henderson, Hopkins, Houston, Nacogdoches, Rains, Rusk, Smith, Trinity, Upshur, Van Zandt, and Wood.

Applications are open online at rmhcntx.org/scholarships and must be submitted by April 1.

To be eligible for an RMHC scholarship, students must:

  • Be a high school student
  • Be under the age of 21
  • Be eligible to attend a two- or four-year college or university with a full course of study
  • Be a legal resident of the United States
  • Live in the Far North Texas RMHC Chapter geographic areas and submit a complete application and all required documents by the deadline.

“Our hope with this scholarship is to help students focus on their studies and college experience without having to worry about finances,” said Cliff Johnson Sr., local owner/operator of McDonald’s and chairman of the board. administration of RMHCNTX. “As local business owners, we understand the importance of higher education and pride ourselves on helping students achieve their dreams.”

The scholarship program was established in 1988 and has given more than $2.5 million to approximately 1,536 North Texas high school students in recent years.

“I can tell you about past experiences. We had winners in our communities, and I became lifelong friends with those kids. I call them children, but they are young adults. They graduated (and) succeeded in their careers,” said Jeaneane Lilly, RMHC Board Member of the Far North of Texas.

Comments are closed.