High School Students Win 2022 DAR Good Citizen Awards and Scholarships

The Esther McCrory, Amarillo, Texas, National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) chapter recently honored 15 area high school students as DAR Good Citizens.

The DAR Good Citizens Awards are given to encourage and reward the qualities of a good citizen. The first prize was awarded in 1934, now continuing for the 88th year both nationally and locally. This award recognizes and rewards high school students who exhibit good citizenship qualities of trustworthiness, service, leadership, and patriotism in their homes, schools, and communities. These students are selected because they demonstrate these qualities to an exceptional degree and are named DAR Good Citizens.

Each Good Citizen receives a certificate, lapel pin, wallet ID card, poster explaining the meaning of the lapel pin, copy of the Bill of Rights, a small American flag, and a red, white and blue which can be worn with the cap and the graduation gown. .

Newly appointed Good Citizens may choose to enter the scholarship contest by submitting a personal statement of their high school activities and accomplishments, participation, and community interest, and writing a timed essay, all of which are scored by a panel of non-DAR Judges. The title of the 2021-22 essay was “Our American Heritage and Our Responsibility to Preserve It” with a central question: “How do the qualities of a good citizen (reliability, service, leadership, and patriotism) help sustain our nation? »

Three good citizens received scholarships from the Esther McCrory Chapter of the NSDAR. Good Citizen Emma Engler of Ascension Academy received the first scholarship in the amount of $300. Good Citizen Thiri Win of Palo Duro High School received the second place scholarship in the amount of $200. Good Citizen Dakota Walker of Vega High School received the third place scholarship in the amount of $175.

2022 DAR Good Citizens

Amarillo High School – Bentley McKay Parnell

Ascension Academy – Emma Kathryn Engler 1st Place Scholarship $300

Boys Ranch High School—Kevin David Smith

Bushland High School—Megan Layne Potter

Canyon High School – Hannah Marie Backus

Caprock High School — Julio Cesar Fragoso

Claude High School — Ryley Faith Denson

Highland Park Secondary School – Schaeffer J Underwood

Catholic Academy of the Holy Cross – Jose Manuel Sanchez Belmonte

Palo Duro High School – Thiri Wins $200 2nd Place Scholarship

Randall High School – Maguire Faith Guest

River Road High School—Trent Keith Logan

San Jacinto Christian Academy – Ezekiel Brent Mills

Tascosa High School – Adison Joy Bolton

Vega High School – Dakota Kinley Walker 3rd Place Scholarship $175

Esther McCrory Chapter Regent is Ann Schoen. Jeanne Ann Gibson is Vice Regent and President of the Good Citizens Award. The Chapter was founded on April 11, 1911, having recently celebrated its 110th anniversary.

Comments are closed.