Lexington Mayor Announces Be the Change Scholarship Winners

LEXINGTON, Ky. (FOX 56) – Recipients of the first “Be the Change” scholarship were announced Wednesday by Lexington Mayor Linda Gorton.

The scholarship aims to provide opportunities for students of color while helping to address racial inconsistencies in the criminal justice system.

Nola Lewis is the winner of an annual renewable scholarship of $20,000 and Asha Chekanao, the runner-up, received a one-time scholarship of $10,000. Both are seniors at Bryan Station High School.

The scholarship was available to Bryan Station High School students of color who hope to further their education in criminal and related fields at a Kentucky college of their choice.

“I am so proud of Nola and Asha and their commitment to serving our community in the area of ​​criminal justice and public safety. This new scholarship provides life-changing opportunities for the next generation of criminal justice and public safety leaders in our community,” said Mayor Gorton.

Lewis, the scholarship runner-up, is participating in Homeland, Law, and Fire Science at school and has yet to make her college choice.

Chekabao attends Bryan Station Medical Academy and plans to attend Northern Kentucky University.

The scholarship is supported by the ONE Lexington initiative which works with the community to create youth programs that enhance the quality of life in violent crime-prone neighborhoods.

To learn more about ONE Lexington, visit lexingtonky.gov/one-lexington.

Comments are closed.