Meet the US Presidential Scholars for 2022

May is always an important month for incoming and graduating students. This is when most students make a final decision about where to go to college, and it’s also when thousands of colleges and universities hold their annual commencement ceremonies, most of which are once again taking place in person after being suspended or modified in the past two years. due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

May is also the month each year when the newest class of U.S. Presidential Scholars are revealed. This week the The Ministry of Education has announced the 58and class of U.S. Presidential Scholars, honoring 161 high school students for their academic, artistic, professional, and technical achievements.

Being named a U.S. Presidential Scholar is considered one of the nation’s most prestigious academic awards for high school graduates. You can see the full list of this year’s class here.

“Our 2022 Presidential Scholars represent the best of America and remind us that when empowered through education, there are no limits to what our young people can accomplish,” the U.S. Secretary said. ‘Education, Miguel Cardona, in the announcement of the Ministry. “Today, I join President Biden in celebrating a class of scholars whose pursuit of knowledge, generosity of spirit and exceptional talents bring our nation immense pride. Throughout one of the time periods our country’s history and in the midst of our recovery from the pandemic, our students have once again demonstrated their strength and that they have so much to contribute to our country. America’s future is bright.

Launched in 1964, Presidential Fellows are selected annually by the White House Commission on Presidential Academics. This year, selections were made from approximately 3.7 million high school students based on outstanding academic performance, artistic achievement, technical excellence, essays, community service, leadership, and commitment to ideals. students.

The Commission invites high school graduating students to apply for recognition based on their SAT or ACT exam scores, or they may be nominated by a public school superintendent or one of the Commission. Applicants must be US citizens or lawful permanent residents of the United States.

The selection of Presidential Scholars is guided by a quota. Each year’s class is made up of one male and one female student from each state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and American families living abroad. In addition, 55 other scholars are chosen – 20 in the arts, 20 in vocational and technical education and 15 selected in general. The prize does not include any monetary allowance.

To date, the United States Presidential Scholars Program has honored more than 7,900 of the country’s top high school graduates.

Florida topped this year’s list with nine scholarship recipients; followed by New York and Texas, each with seven; and California with six. Four states (Arizona, Delaware, Illinois and Virginia) had five winners each.

The collective achievements of the past Presidential Fellows are more impressive than ever. Several, like McKenna Suna senior at Paul Laurence Dunbar High in Lexington, Kentucky, and Kyle Chenfrom Rock Bridge High School in Columbia, Missouri, scored perfect or near perfect on the ACT or SAT.

Their ranks include valedictorians, national scholars, and National Honor Society inductees. Many scholars, like Lydia Marie Pastore of Mesa, Arizona and Skylar Walters of New Vernon, New Jersey, received honors for their scientific research.

Of course, student-athletes are well represented with martial artists, soccer players, cross-country runners, tennis players, and college golfers all included among the 161.

Because it deliberately selects students in the arts, the Commission is able to identify some exceptional creative and performing artists.

  • Joshua Brownfrom Interlochen Arts Academy, is an actor, and Quoc Bui, also from Interlochen, is a visual artist.
  • Kailey Rose Worontsof, from Florida, is an award-winning dancer. You can watch her play here.
  • Jonathan Chenfrom Iowa City, Iowa, has won numerous awards for his musical talent.
  • Miye Sugino is an artist and writer from California. His work has been recognized by organizations such as the National YoungArts Foundation, the Japanese American National Museum, and the Juniper Writing Institute.

Several scholars have distinguished themselves through their community service. As examples,

  • Edward Shenfrom Pine View School in Sarasota, Florida, created a creative writing workshop for people with Parkinson’s disease.
  • .Charlye Mikayla Allen was named the recipient of the Daughters of the American Revolution Good Citizen Scholarship for the State of Georgia.
  • Juliana Schneider, of Reno Nevada, helped develop VoluntYOU, an app that connects volunteers with organizations that need volunteers.

But inevitably, it is the unexpected, out-of-the-ordinary talents that turn your head.

  • from oregon jenny duan plays piano in a jazz band and is co-leader of the local Asian Student Union.
  • Rishika Kartikof St. Mary’s Academy High School in Highlands Ranch, Colorado, is president of the Colorado Tactile Art Club, where she helps create opportunities for students who are blind to express themselves and find community.
  • Jui Khankari, of Oak Brook, Illinois, has won the prestigious Diana Award for its work building an artificial intelligence platform for young people. She has been accepted for admission by 18 different universities and colleges.
  • Claire Swadling, of Plymouth, Michigan is the founder of Health. To the right. Now., a nonprofit that educates young people about the applications of artificial intelligence to environmental and public health solutions. Additionally, she has made short films on political issues that have earned recognition from government officials and C-SPAN.

The 2022 class of Presidential Scholars is a remarkable group, embodying the greeting that President Lyndon Johnson gave to the very first group of scholars June 10, 1964:

“You are not here today because you are typical or because you are a representative of your generation or your promotion. You are here because of what you have accomplished, on your own, and what you have the capacity to accomplish in the future on your own. You have excelled in the scholarship of your class of 1964. You have the potential to excel even more in the citizenship of your country of 1974, 1984 or 1994.”

The Presidential Scholars Class of 2022 will be recognized for outstanding achievement with an online recognition program later this summer.

Comments are closed.