Northeast Community Credit Union Selects 2022 William L. Armstrong Scholarship Recipients –

The Northeast Community Credit Union awards the William L. Armstrong Scholarship annually to qualified credit union members who are graduating from high school and will be attending college that year.

The scholarship was originally established to honor William L. Armstrong, one of the founding members of the Northeast Community Credit Union, who continues to serve as Director Emeritus.

To be eligible for the scholarship, students must be enrolled in local high schools or a home school approved by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, have a GPA of at least 3.0, must have their own NCCU account, and plan to enter college for the following summer or fall semester.

As part of the selection process, students must submit a 500-word typed essay on how one person can make a difference in the world.

This year, the scholarships were awarded to Taylor Hicks of Cloudland High School; Elijah Smith of Elizabethton High School; Kylie Odom of Hampton High School; Ryan Eggers of Happy Valley High School; Alana Parsons from Unaka High School and Luke Anglin from Homelife Academy.

Students are recommended by teachers and community leaders. They embody good citizenship in the classrooms and are active in volunteer work in the region.

Comments are closed.