Seven Prince William students receive National Merit Scholarships | Education

Seven students from Prince William County have been named the winners of the 2022 National Merit Scholarship. The students were chosen from a pool of more than 15,000 semi-finalists.

This year’s National Merit Scholarship program began in October 2020 when high school juniors took the PSAT/NMSQT, which served as the initial selection of program participants. The highest-scoring entrants in each state, representing less than 1% of high school students nationwide, were named semi-finalists on a state representation basis.

Aatish Sethi, a student of Battlefield High School and The Governor’s School @ Innovation Park, has won the National Merit Truist Scholarship, a national merit scholarship in business.

Additionally, six other Prince William students have won $2,500 National Merit Scholarships, funded by the National Merit Scholarship Corp. :

Iqra Ahmad, Osbourn Park High School and The Governor’s School @ Innovation Park

Ritika K. Bawa, Patriot High School

Saahas Gowda, Battlefield High School

Raj D. Joshi, Battlefield High School and The Governor’s School @ Innovation Park

Melanie J. Rosado, Charles J. Colgan Sr. High School

Jaseet Sandhu, Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology, formerly a student at Ronald Reagan Middle School

The National Merit Scholarship Corp., a non-profit organization, was established in 1955 to conduct the national merit scholarship program. The majority of National Merit Scholarships offered each year are underwritten by approximately 400 independent corporate and university sponsors.

Comments are closed.