St. Joe’s Tomm and Buffalo Seminary’s Murphy win All-Catholic Cross Country titles

Press Staff Reports

St. Joe Jr. Sam Tomm and Buffalo Seminary Jr. Fiona Murphy won the individual championships at the Monsignor Martin All-Catholic Cross Country Meet Thursday at Como Park.

Tomm completed the 3.1-mile course in 17:05.65 to beat Casey Black of St. Mary’s, who finished in 17:26.81, and Ryan Janese of Nichols, who finished in 17:49.91 .

Buffalo Seminary’s junior Fiona Murphy wins the Women’s All-Catholic Cross Country Championships at Como Park in Lancaster on November 3, 2022.

Joseph Cook

Murphy’s winning time was 20:32.72. Julia Weyer of Nardin was second (21:32.01) and Claire Daniels of Sacred Heart was third (21:36.18).

On the boys’ side, St. Francis won the team title with 56 points, with runners in fifth, sixth, eighth, 12th and 15th places. Canisius was second (62), followed by Nichols (69), St. Joe’s (71), St. Mary’s (155), Bishop Timon (166) and Gow (190).

On the girls’ side, Sacred Heart won the team title with four top-10 finishes and a total of 32 points. St. Mary’s was second (58), followed by Nardin (69), Buffalo Seminary (93), Nichols (111), and Mt. Mercy (167).

People also read…

The top seven runners from the winning team and the top three not from the winning team in boys and girls travel to the State Federation meet Nov. 20 in Wappingers Falls.

The meet also determined first- and second-team All-Catholic runners, based on their outcome. The top seven were named to the first team; the next seven were the second team.

The first all-Catholic men’s team: Tomm, Black, Janese, Eli Noecker (Canisius), Michael Stadler (St. Francis), Eric Lanning (St. Francis) and Lucas Gawron (St. Joe’s). The boys’ second team, starting with eighth place overall: Ryan Borello (St. Francis), Ethan Johnson (Canisius), Landon Schoenberger (Canisius), Eli Kiddy (Nichols), Adam Cline (St. Francis), Ryan Koeppen (Nichols), Owen Block (Nichols).

The first all-Catholic women’s team: Murphy, Weyer, Daniels, Grace Caterina (Sacred Heart), Mya Nazzarett (St. Mary’s), Barbara Kunz (Sacred Heart) and Victoria Mineo (St. Mary’s). The second female team, starting with eighth place: Shelby Paner (Sacred Heart), Isabella Prospero (St. Mary’s), Maeve Weimer (Nardin), Annie McClure (Sacred Heart), Emimly Huckell (Nichols), Catherine Pivarunas (Sacred -Heart) and Jocelyn Rath (Buffalo Seminary).

Comments are closed.