The 2021 statewide women’s soccer team includes 27 players from Section 4

Elmira Notre Dame junior goaltender Shannon Maloney was one of four selections for the New York State Women’s Soccer Team Section 4 First Team Selections for the New York State Women’s Soccer Team. season 2021.

Maloney helped the Crusaders claim the Class C Section 4 title with a 1-0 victory over Lansing and recorded another shutout in a 1-0 win over Sauquoit Valley in the state quarterfinals.

She was joined in the All-State Class C First Team by Lansing main defender Ashley Bell.

The other Section 4 first-team picks belonged to Class D: Schenevus junior striker Angelina Competiello and Franklin seventh-year forward Shannon Kingsbury.

Twenty-seven players from Section 4 have been named from all states. The team was edited by NYSSCOGS editor-in-chief Perry L. Novak, assisted by a selection committee.

Class AA

Emily Hanrahan (19) of Elmira controls the ball ahead of Megan Kirk (20) of Corning and Gillian Mason in the Express 4-0 win in the Women's Section 4, Class AA championship game , on October 29, 2021 at Waverly Memorial Stadium.

Elmira’s junior attacker Emily Hanrahan was selected in the Fourth Team after leading the Express to a Section 4 title.

Ithaca senior midfielder Lucy Getzin was a seventh-team pick.

The Class AA player of the year was Lia Howard of Section 8 at Massapequa. Bruce Stegner of Massapequa was named Class AA Coach of the Year.

Class A

Maine-Endwell junior defender Kaetlyn L’Amoreaux was selected in the second class A team.

Vestal first-year midfielder Ava Schmidt was a fourth-team pick after helping the Golden Bears to the Section 4 championship.

Section 3’s Alison Falvo of New Hartford was named Class A Player of the Year. Class A Coach of the Year honors went to Frank DuRoss Jr. of New Hartford.

Class B

Nadia Wojcik, a girls' soccer player from the Chenango Valley.

State quarterfinalist Chenango Valley had two all-state picks. Junior midfielder Nadia Wojcik was chosen from the second team and junior midfielder Aubrey Marroquin was chosen from the third team.

Second-year Olowo Free Academy midfielder Erin McDonald was a fourth-team pick, and Olowo’s senior striker Carmen Jorgensen was called a fifth-team pick. Owego was a Section 4 co-champion, but Chenango Valley qualified for the state tournament in a shootout after the teams tied for scoreless in the section final.

Oneonta’s second-year midfielder Veronica Madej was a sixth-team selection.

Sarah Woods of Lewiston-Porter of Section 6 was named Class B Player of the Year and Don Cupertino of Bronxville of Section 1 was named Class B Coach of the Year.

Class C

Lansing's Hailey Jacobs, left, dribbles the ball as Elmira Notre Dame's Amanda Simpson (5) defends in the Crusaders' 1-0 win in the Section 4, Class C women's football championship match, on October 30, 2021 at the Wright National Soccer Campus in Oneonta.

Elmira Notre Dame had two other all-state caps among sisters Amanda Simpson and Rachael Simpson, who make up half of the quadruplets. Amanda, a senior defender, was selected in the third team in class C. Rachael, a senior midfielder, was selected in the fourth team.

Delhi senior goalkeeper Sylvia Liddle was a third-team pick.

Also from Lansing, junior midfielder Ava Wilder and junior attacker Lulani Haslinger were fourth-team selections.

The fifth-team picks were Unatego senior midfielder Anabel Rommer and Oxford senior striker Kaylin Tefft.

Shae O’Rourke of Lancaster St. Mary’s Catholic School was named Class C Player of the Year. Lindsey Douglas, who guided Section 7 AuSable Valley to a semifinal victory over Notre Dame and the State title, was named Class C Coach of the Year.

Erin McDonald (22) from Olowo tries to keep Aubrey Marroquin of Chenango Valley's ball during the Section 4, Class B women's soccer championship game on October 30, 2021 at the Obago Free Academy.

Class D

Other all-state picks in Section 4 of Class D included junior striker Schenevus Taylor Knapp, a second-team pick.

Third team honors went to Marathon Delta Barber senior midfielder and Franklin senior midfielder Kayla Campbell.

The fourth team was selected for Marathon senior defender / midfielder Brooke Tillotson, Odessa-Montour junior attack Hannah Nolan, Schenevus freshman Lily Competiello and Roxbury Myah senior midfielder. Johnston.

Follow Andrew Legare on Twitter: @SGAndrewLegare. You can also reach him at [email protected] To get unlimited access to the latest news, please subscribe or activate your digital account today.

Comments are closed.