The ordination of 17 men to the permanent diaconate of the diocese of El Paso is scheduled for Friday


Bishop Mark Seitz and the office of the permanent diaconate of the diocese of El Paso announced on Friday the ordination of 17 men to the permanent diaconate of the diocese.

The ceremony is set for 6:30 p.m. at St. Mark’s Catholic Church located at 11700 Pebble Hills Boulevard; the ordination will also be broadcast live via the Facebook page of the Diocese of El Paso.

Diocesan officials say they have trained these 17 men for the permanent diaconate over the past 5 years.

In addition to ordination to the permanent diaconate, these men will receive a master’s degree in ministerial studies at either St. Mary’s Seminary or St. Thomas Seminary, both located in Houston. These men all received their training through distance education.

The original cadre of men who began their formation to the permanent diaconate 5 years ago included an 18th member.

Retired Lt. Ruben Flores, former chaplain and EPFD deacon candidate who died with COVID-19 in January of this year, along with his wife, will have a place with the other 17 men in honor of what allegedly was his diaconal ordination.

“The candidate deacons were all in the middle of their last official retirement when they learned of the death of Ruben Flores from COVID-19,” said Deacon Jesus Cardenas, director of the permanent diaconate.

“The candidates all decided that as a group they wanted to honor Lieutenant Flores with a place by their side during this ordination.”

Deacon Cardenas expressed his joy at being able to add 17 more men to the permanent diaconate.

“These men have worked hard over the past 5 years to get to the top of their training through ordination,” he said. “It is an exciting time for them and their families and we look forward to having them as ministers in our diocese,” he concluded.

The permanent Odrinands deacons and their missions are as follows:

Daniel Bejarano – St. Rapahel Parish
Luis Alberto Buena – Saint Mark’s Parish
Julio Cesar Diaz – San Judas Tadeo Parish
Ruben Jasso Gomez – St. Thomas Apostle Parish (Monahans, TX)
Dagoberto Gonzalez – Parish of St. Frances Xavier Cabrini
José Marcos Gonzalez – Parish of San Antonio de Padua
Wade Stevens Horsch – Our Lady of the Assumption Parish
Oscar Marruffo Machuca – Sta. Rosa de Lima Parish (Pecos, Texas)
Arturo Rolando Medina – Cristo Rey Parish
Victor Adolfo Rubio – Queen of Peace Parish
Andres Ruvalcaba – Parish of Saint Patrick’s Cathedral
Lucio Alfonso Sandoval – Parish of Saint Francis of Assisi
Luis Angel Santos – Saint Matthew Parish
Alfredo Lorenzo Solano – Saint-Raphaël Parish
Karl Andrew Twichell – St. Luke Parish
Carlos Omar Viesca – Saint Luke Parish
Rudy Ochoa Villegas – Sta. Rosa de Lima Parish (Pecos, Texas)
+ Ret. Lt. Ruben Flores – El Paso Fire Department

A deacon is an ordained minister of the Catholic Church. There are three groups, or “orders,” of ordained ministers in the Church: bishops, priests, and deacons.

The Second Vatican Council decreed that the diaconate, when restored as a standing order in the hierarchy, could be open to “mature married men,” and later clarified to mean men over 35.

As ministers of the sacrament, deacons can baptize, lead the faithful in prayer, attend weddings, and organize vigil and funeral services.
Deacons are also dedicated to eliminating injustices or inequalities that cause such needs.

For more information, visit the diocese of El Paso; for our previous coverage, click here.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.